Hello world!

Standard

Hi and welcome to my first blog. I think I’m finally getting the hang of this blogging thing but if I make some mistakes along the way, please be patient.

Tonight being the night of the Oscars and all, I too would like to thank some people who’ve made this possible (allow me these 15 seconds of cliche’d fame). I would like to thank my friends who lovingly urged me to “just fucking do it already” by gently nudging “what the hell happened to the blog?” Basically, these were the friends who just wouldn’t take my crap: slacking, worrying and procrastinating, of which I’m sure I am an unfortunate queen.

Now that the thanks are done, and the tears have been shed, let’s get down to business.

A friend and I were talking recently and we realized that we had each been carrying the never ending non-gift that keeps on giving, universally known as guilt of failure. The irony is, we’re both anything but failures by any stretch (at least my friend isn’t, and I should know). So, why were two fairly intelligent young adults guilting themselves half to death?

Let this be my first question to all you bloggers: do you feel like a failure, even though you intellectually know that you’re really not?

Don’t be shy: let loose and share. After all, we’re all in this together.

Have a great week!

About miamor2111

I decided to stop watching life pass by and join in instead. This year is all about saying "yes" to life, opportunity and ideas thus this blog. Like many people, I've wanted to start a blog, and like many people I chickened out. In fact, this is my second serious attempt. Welcome aboard. I hope you enjoy taking this journey with me. Feel free to leave all sorts of comments, any time and I promise to do my best to reply. Feel free to compliment, complain, criticize, communicate...whatever floats your boat. See you soon :-)

10 responses »

  1. GO GURL!!!..was ’bout time πŸ˜‰
    I am proud of you gorgeous!!! Keep blogging, looks like a lot of treats are bound to come our way…..M excited!!

  2. Well if we go by the dictionary meaning of failure viz. lack of success or an unsuccessful person then yes me the intellectual being that I think I am have experienced this phenomenon many a times and continue to do so. But I also feel that its like a passing moment ……. or myriads of moments in which we feel this way. It happens when the mind fails to reason. Intellect is taken over by this failed mind.
    Can u imagine how strong the ‘failed mind’ is for it to actually be able to take over all faculties? Its a rather beautiful process that unfolds if we are able to step out and watch it as it happens.

  3. Wow Shilpa, that’s deep! It is a beautiful process but one that I hope we can learn to watch unfold with a better landscape – and outcome! As many would say, success comes in many ways. Right now, financial success seems to be my issue. How about you? What’s a person to do when “the mind fails to reason?”

  4. Hey! Girlie, a blog…your sooooooooo in, I never thought about it! Yes, sometimes I feel like a failure, but I thank my Lord for removing the lies that create that feeling. Anything that’s related from the word “fail” doesn’t come from God & must be out of our minds ‘before we not only believe, but actually live it!!!’ Babe, te amo…

  5. Miamor, I agree! I actually believe that life goes in the direction of our thoughts so if we allow ourselves to be duped by…I donno, whatever dupes otherwise intelligent men and women into believing that they have failed, we’re all headed to hades in a hand basket!

    People, may I suggest that we all hold ourselves and each other to task on this one? Perhaps we can just hold each other, and leave it at that πŸ™‚ Seriously though, maybe we should begin to trust that in fact, those who love us are telling us the truth because we are anything but failures.

  6. Hey lady! You started it!!!! In vein of the awards show example – I think that applause is due for you! How do you like writing it? Is it hard to ever shut up (or stop writing?) I have a live journal and sometimes I start rambling…

    Failure – let’s see I strive for some form of perfection in quite a few areas of my life so there are many times when I think that I am a failure. Most recent failure: I’ve been really down on myself as a new clinician and feeling as though my skills are not up to par with my peers. Sometimes I am embarrassed in class if I do not know certain things, thus feel as though I am failing myself. Sometimes, I also feel as though I have failed my clients in some way since I am not completely trained.
    Now, I try to turn my failures upside down, like a frown, hehe, but meaning that I’m attempting to view them in a different light; not just my own pessimistic one. So, I think about the fact that I do not know everything there is to know about being a clinician – duh I just started and I will never know everything anyhow and so on.
    I think that we are too hard on ourselves when we are obviously successes but fuss over not being perfect. I think there is a difference between what is a failure and a mistake and definitely when your just being to harsh on yourself. It’s all in how we view the issue πŸ™‚
    Love ya girl – adding your blog to my favorites and I’m excited for ya
    laters

  7. Hey Josie n the Pussy Cat, so nice to see you (or read you, as it were).

    You are soooo right on the money. It’s hard to reconcile the desire for perfection and the quest for excellence with the truth of the matter: that you’re new to something!

    As someone who knows you (and loves you), let me be one of many to assure you that failure you are not! Your clients are absofuckinglutely lucky as heck to have you.

    Keep coming back, and keep your head up!

    {Hugs} and a slice of cheese pizza to you πŸ˜‰

  8. hey sweetz..good idea..been hella buzy but im so proud of u… Hmmm..talkn bout failure, I can tell u that I struggled with the analogy of what failure is…n in the end…to me, thinkn bout success n what it entails waz just the better deal. Success to me is knowing when u make mistakes and learning from those mistakes. That willpower to move on and do bigger better things especially in the wake of adversity is what distinguishes success from failure.

  9. Audreeeey, so great to see you!

    Never thought of it that way before. Thinking about success is much more effective (and healthier) than thinking about failure. I’m sure gonna try that perspective on for size, and keep you posted!

    Have an awesome, successful week!

Leave a Reply

