OK…LONGEST POST – EVER!

Standard

Today was such a full day. I was thinking I would narrate what happened but I think it’ll be better for me to map it for you. Here’s the breakdown:

1. When I switched trains this morning, I ended up being the only person in my train car. What did I do? I sang, and I mean out loud. OOOOH SAY CAN YOU SEE…. I even tried doing that shpill that we often hear on the subway: “ladies and gentlemen….gimme a donation…” It was kind of weird but alas, spontaneous and fun πŸ™‚

2. It was my last day at my “job” and I went in with all these things planned to do. I ended up accomplishing some of them and others didn’t get done – just like all other days

3. I attended a very informative training from a visiting attorney

4. I had another meeting directly following that one. It was good to have time to talk and say a proper goodbye to my supervisor (one of them). Oh, and she got me a gift and asked me to keep in touch, which is just so great coz I admire her so much and learn so much from her

5. The office, the awesome people that I work with, had this huge, HUGE lunch spread and we all sat in the conference room and talked and laughed and ate and it was good

6. We took pictures and it was fun

7. I opened the office-wide card to me and it was so sweet. Every one, I mean EVERY ONE wrote something sweet and meaningful and personal. I won’t lie: it felt good to be appreciated πŸ™‚

8. One of my co-cohorts gave me a really nice and sweet gift. Again, I won’t lie: this was incredibly sweet

9. At the end of the day, we left and again, it was really nice to spend some quality time with a friend and co-worker

I got on the train to come home and guess what, “ladies and gentlemen…” haha, ok so it’s not what you think but it started out that way…”ladies and gentlemen, due to police action at…please be patient. Oh, and the AC was off so we were all dying of heat, which was good. Why, you ask? Because people started talking to each other and decisions were made and bonds were formed. Needless to say, a window was opened and shortly, the AC was back on. Great! Until two stops later, we got kicked off the train. “Ladies and gentlemen, I just heard from my supervisor…this is the last stop.” Whaaat? I wanna get hoooome. Yeah, that’s me whining on the inside but on the outside, I kept my cool, asked the conductor how to get home and turned to leave. Except that two of the ladies from the train were waiting for me and we walked and talked and laughed together to the next station. Oh, I even found one of the city’s landmarks and took a pic. So fun, for me at least!

Anyway, on my way home I saw a store I’ve never seen before so I decided to go in. One of the ladies in there started going kind of crazy, talking about how I looked JUST LIKE HER – a particular actress. We ended up talking and laughing and having a good time. I left, but not before she asked for my phone number, just like the two ladies from the train did. Cool πŸ˜€

I got home, only to learn that the reason the subway was closed was because a guy stabbed a cop, shots were fired IN THE SUBWAY but luckily no one died. Ummmm…..that’s kind of crazy, non? How does “gimme a cigarette” turn into “here, lemme stab you with a screw driver right before you shoot me and graze a teenager’s leg with a bullet?” Anyway, that’s my day, and it’s NOT in a nutshell πŸ™‚

Bottom line:

I felt appreciated

I had a good day

I went with the flow at the unexpected turns and was happier for it

I said YES and enjoyed my random pathed day. YAY MIA, right??? RIGHT???

Ok, that’s me. How was your day? Actually, that’s a great question. I really want know. How was/is your day? Let a sista know. Till then, have a fabulous day and remember to go with the flow. I am off to see sleep, my lover πŸ˜‰

About miamor2111

I decided to stop watching life pass by and join in instead. This year is all about saying "yes" to life, opportunity and ideas thus this blog. Like many people, I've wanted to start a blog, and like many people I chickened out. In fact, this is my second serious attempt. Welcome aboard. I hope you enjoy taking this journey with me. Feel free to leave all sorts of comments, any time and I promise to do my best to reply. Feel free to compliment, complain, criticize, communicate...whatever floats your boat. See you soon :-)

2 responses »

  1. mine was a good day, after calling off, work all weekend, I slept in and skipped out on my first two classes. Had to be in school for award ceremonies of which again I was a recipient of this year. Sat through an hour of seminar from the VP of IT from the Post Dispatch, who apparently has a PhD in Chem, go figure?! He wasn’t all that interesting and then again, wasn’t all that boring…LOL
    So went to the appetizer thing right after that, a few classmates wanted to hit the bar, and I’m thinking y the hell not, so I look at my watch its 6pm, I’m late for work so what better thing to do than call off again, I mean I only called off the last two days, what is another day added to that. Sup wasn’t happy, but he’ll survive….hit the bar, drank and had some group therapy with my classmates, all proud of how far we’ve come and just getting through the last semester, and appreciating the great professors we’ve had along the way.

    Got tipsy, had to sober up, so ordered some food, which turned out to be dinner, lol, and switched drinks to Grandma and coke from the toxic hurricane…:) wow! our department chair joined us and played 3 rounds of darts, this are the days when I really truly love and appreciate my school, and the laid-back friendly atmosphere between students and faculty.

    So had a paper due by midnight, and left the bar at quarter to midnight, LOL…yes I knew the time, I was just dreading the writing. Needless to say, knocked it out and sent it off 2 hours later:)

    So today was a good day, and even better when I look forward and realize I’m not going back to work till 2 weeks later….LMAO

  2. LMAO….I miss you, and your post reminds me why. Chica, ur sup must’ve been mad as hell. Meanwhile, ur drinking and eating and playing darts and celebrating and having a jolly good time. Serves him right!

    Seriously, I’m so proud of you! I wish I’d have been here to celebrate with you. I know Oz is old school now but when I come we sooo have to go. I need to go out and shake ma groove thang.

    Thanks for sharing. This cracked me up!

Leave a Reply

