Be Kind to Yourself

Standard

As previously stated (read: hell highway), I have been going through some stuff but haven’t been very nice to myself about it. Well, in the interest of my general, relational, spiritual, emotional and physical well-being, I have decided to look toward a solution. Let me be the first to say that I don’t know exactly HOW I’m going to do the following but I promise to try. Feel free to suggest.

So, as I was saying, in my own interest and the interest of those that love me and are tired of hearing me tear into myself, I have made a decision:

My goal this week is:

1. To try and remember to be kind to myself (literally)

2. To lower my standards and expectations to something a little more realistic e.g. get through this intact, NOT get through this perfectly.

3. To accept that while some friends may not be able to or want to be supportive during this time, others actually DO and to stop feeling bad for wanting, needing or accepting their support. That’s what friends are for, and I hope I would do the same for them.

Three goals may not seem like a lot but for me, in my current insanely perfectionistic frame of mind, it’s plenty. Wish me luck!

About miamor2111

I decided to stop watching life pass by and join in instead. This year is all about saying "yes" to life, opportunity and ideas thus this blog. Like many people, I've wanted to start a blog, and like many people I chickened out. In fact, this is my second serious attempt. Welcome aboard. I hope you enjoy taking this journey with me. Feel free to leave all sorts of comments, any time and I promise to do my best to reply. Feel free to compliment, complain, criticize, communicate...whatever floats your boat. See you soon :-)

4 responses »

  1. Luck. I commented on the previous before seeing this post. Sounds like good goals to me. Ever heard of laissez faire? Zen? Meh? (courtesy of Bart Simposns)

    • Thanks my dear. Laissez-faire? Yeah, totally heard of it. It’s a far away land, right? Next door to Zen? Yup…I’m on the first flight out there ASAP đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

