The blessing I almost missed

Standard

I had a pretty ok day but I was pooped from pushing myself so much this week. I had this plan to come home right after 5pm and just get on the bed and chillax, so you can imagine that when my friend called to tell me that she had tickets to go to this place “…refugees…did I wanna come?” I was thinking “oh heck no. I’m pooped!” Instead, I said “Ok I”ll just meet you there.” Well, lemme tell you; nothing prepared me for what happened next.

I had heard her say something about watching refugees so I figured it was a movie and honestly, I wasn’t really looking forward to it. Like I said, I was tired (and a little self involved?). Turns out that in celebration of world refugee day, UNHCR had made it possible for the Sierra Leone All Stars Band to come and play a free concert. It’s no lie when I tell you that this was the best surprise I have had and heard in a while. It’s a total understatement to say that these guys knew their stuff and were accomplished musicians who were entertaining, fun and connected.

This experience took me to a place inside me where I feel elevated, whole, and that the best of me is still to come. I’m not talking celebrity and I’m not just saying this just to say it. I’m talking….these musicians who have survived unimaginable tragedies and loss reminded me (and really took me back to the place where I am always reminded) that not only can something good and beautiful come out of pain, but that something meaningful and worthy can and will come out of pain – if we let it. With everything that’s been going on with me, I’ve been left wondering where the next hit will come from , feeling lost in a world of other hurting people, feeling like I’m losing my mind and my will to believe in a better tomorrow. Tonight wasn’t just about a band or some musicians for me, tonight was about hope. Hope that tomorrow can be better, hope that music really can and will heal – if we let it, hope that the sun will shine again. Hope and knowledge: knowledge that God sees me, that I am not lost and that all this will not be for nothing. Knowledge that I’m ok…that I’m safe.

I needed a blessing, which is exactly what I got, and I would have totally missed it if I hadn’t said “YES” to a simple invitation; so next time someone invites you to do something different or out of the ordinary, even if you’re tired consider saying “yes,” (or “ok, I’ll just meet you there” :-) , for you never know what surprise and/or blessing awaits you.

About miamor2111

I decided to stop watching life pass by and join in instead. This year is all about saying "yes" to life, opportunity and ideas thus this blog. Like many people, I've wanted to start a blog, and like many people I chickened out. In fact, this is my second serious attempt. Welcome aboard. I hope you enjoy taking this journey with me. Feel free to leave all sorts of comments, any time and I promise to do my best to reply. Feel free to compliment, complain, criticize, communicate...whatever floats your boat. See you soon :-)

2 responses »

  1. I hear you pochp. It’s hard because we’re all pushed too hard, too far for too long and we get lost in the mundane-ness of life. It’s also hard if you keep getting invites from negative people. Believe me it’s better to be blah and do your own thing than to be around negative people for longer than is absolutely necessary.

    This might be a grand opportunity for you to look at those around and question why there are so many negative nellies around you, and what your contribution to that may be. After recognizing what’s there to be recognized, then make it your goal to allow less negative and more positive people in your circle of friends.

    Let’s both make this THE summer that we do more fun, cool, different stuff. You with me??? Feel free to keep track with me on my “yes trail” page. I sure could use the company 😀

Leave a Reply

