Nice vs. Rude

Standard

It’s obvious, I know, but I still feel it bears mentioning: rude store clerks, customer service reps, doctors, dentists and people in general suck. I mean they make an experience that much more awful and uncomfortable. Lemme explain my soapbox:

1. I was in a bookstore yesterday and I realized that I really didn’t want to be there. The thing is, they sell books at a discount, they have a large selection and conveniently located. So what’s the problem? They’ve got to be some of the unfriendliest employees I’ve ever met. I mean, these people are surrounded by all these wonderful published works and they act like it’s such a bother for them to assist you. To make matters worse, you have no choice but to talk to them when you need assistance because they don’t have public-access computers that allow customers to do the searching themselves. Another thing: they’re shelving system sucks! I love that they’re focused on books and books alone (i.e no coffee shop *GASP*) but dang people, lose the snobbery already, STRAND.

2. On the complete opposite side of the scale, I walked into a store today and ended up spending about an hour just working on one thing. I happened to be talking to the manager and he calmly, patiently, politely, pleasantly and respectfully handled the situation, and this was something that would’v e had me in knots, forehead twisted due to frustration. His sense of humor and maturity didn’t hurt either. I ended up spending $50 in the store because I felt comfortable and appropriately attended to. I’ve gotta tell you: it was actually weird to find someone who seemed to love his job and did it without a chip on his shoulder. Good call, RadioShack, on hiring this manager!

Ok, so lemme step off my soap box (for now). From now on, we should all hold hands and sing kumbaya. Haha, I’m teasing, although it couldn’t hurt. Seriously though, from now on, let’s strive for more “nice” less “rude” ok? OK? Mm hm…I’ll be watching you 🙂

About miamor2111

I decided to stop watching life pass by and join in instead. This year is all about saying "yes" to life, opportunity and ideas thus this blog. Like many people, I've wanted to start a blog, and like many people I chickened out. In fact, this is my second serious attempt. Welcome aboard. I hope you enjoy taking this journey with me. Feel free to leave all sorts of comments, any time and I promise to do my best to reply. Feel free to compliment, complain, criticize, communicate...whatever floats your boat. See you soon :-)

Leave a Reply

