Taking Chances

Standard

Today I took a chance on something and you know what? It felt good! I started this blog as a way to help me grab life by the horns and sometimes I forget. Well, not today! I normally put this stuff in my “Yes Trail” – which by the way you should check out; it’s near my “About” page – but not today. Today I’m putting this right here so you all will know that I TOOK A CHANCE and I’m ok, no matter the outcome.

Of course I won’t know the outcome until hopefully tomorrow, maybe later this week or next month or maybe never. Either way, I hope that I’ll remember this day, especially if my chance doesn’t work out as hoped. I just felt that it was important to have a witness to this, the continuation of a life that is lived with more YESes than NOs. You, my reader, are my witness so thanks!

Pop over to the Yes Trail and follow my YES path and then pop back over in a few days and watch this space regarding the outcome. Until then, take chances and make an effort to live the life you want by saying YES to life, love and opportunity.

YES to the future 🙂

10.27.09 Update:

It totally paid off to take a chance. I got the answer to my question and I’m happier for it. I’m happy to have answers but more importantly, I’m proud of myself for daring to ask what I needed to ask and know what I needed to know. I’m proud of myself for taking a chance and taking a leap of faith, while hoping for the best. Take a chance but remember to remain open to the outcome.

Good luck! 🙂

About miamor2111

I decided to stop watching life pass by and join in instead. This year is all about saying "yes" to life, opportunity and ideas thus this blog. Like many people, I've wanted to start a blog, and like many people I chickened out. In fact, this is my second serious attempt. Welcome aboard. I hope you enjoy taking this journey with me. Feel free to leave all sorts of comments, any time and I promise to do my best to reply. Feel free to compliment, complain, criticize, communicate...whatever floats your boat. See you soon :-)

5 responses »

  1. Taking chances is ambiguous, it’s always our fear of being rejected (as I have recently posted) vs. the pleasure to enjoy possible victory. I’m intrigued to know what was it that you took your chance on? )))

  2. LOL, I thought you picked out the avatar. I guess wordpress randomly assigned it. Since you didn’t actually pick it out, let me say that I don’t think it’s your best look 🙂

    Yeah, taking chances is really all about rejection vs. acceptance, and the willingness (or lack thereof) to deal with the outcome. I highly recommend it, btw. You’re curious to know what it was about? In a nutshell? L.O.V.E, or at least the potential for it. Cliche? Maybe, but totally worth it for me.

    So do you write a blog or do you enjoy reading them more. I’d love to read it if you do. Good karma and blessings to you 🙂

  3. I still haven’t figured out how to pick a wordpress avatar. I have wordpress installed but it’s on an earthlink hosted DNS site. I’m a little new to computers as you can tell from my disorganized site. Congratulations on having the courage to take reasoned chances. With respect to taking chances, acceptance and rejection, that’s a hard one for me. I seem to crave acceptance, crumble when rejected, and have a penchant for masochistically provoke the rejection I can’t handle. Maybe that’s why I’m hesitant to trust my own judgement taking chances. I do admire yours.

    • Girl, I’m technologically challenged so I can’t even begin to tell you how to choose an avatar. You’re not the first to tell me that you’re WP avatars were weird. I agree; I’m just no help on the matter 😀 Thanks for the compliment. Running a blog site takes time and progress can be slow esp if ur not a techie. My only advice is keep it simple and clean: don’t try to do or say too much. Also, ask people (friends and strangers alike) for honest feedback. It helps.

      Now, about taking chances: people pleasing is the devil! You’re not the only one: in an ironic twist, we tend to create what we fear. Since you know these are some issues for you, may I suggest that you be brave and follow those thoughts. In other words, keep asking “why,” as in “why do I crave acceptance? why do I create exactly what I fear? what in it for me? why? why? why?” The hope is that it’ll lead you to the pot of gold: the root. The raison d’etre of your situation. You don’t wanna be saying the exact same thing decade from now. At least you see a pattern. Now you just have to interpret it and figure out what the real, ugly truth is so that you can get off the treadmill of creating what you fear. However, at the end of the day, we’re all learning and there’s no such thing as perfect so everyday remember that you’re spectacular exactly the way you are. As in if you never changed a thing about yourself, you’d still be really great. Period. The end.

      Phew! That’s a lot of talking! Sorry. I hope it helps and I hope you keep coming back 🙂

Leave a Reply

