Facebook – Finale

Standard

A funny thing happened on the way to the fair. Haha, I’ve always wanted to say that and it cracks me up every time πŸ˜€ Seriously though, I thought it’d be good to post an update on my latest issues with FB. On the very day I posted about Facebook and its shenanigans here on my blog, I was able to log into my account and then actually got a response from their help team. As it turns out, they DO exist! Whoddathunkit? I don’t know if one had anything to do with the other, although I’d like to think that it did.

Needless to say, I didn’t deactivate my account because after I painlessly logged in, I realized how much I really would’ve missed certain friends. I am however considering trimming down my friends list, from 300+ to something more manageable like 50 or 10. I don’t wanna go through Facebook withdrawal so maybe I should try to cut it down 1o at a time.

Any advice? I’d appreciate it.

About miamor2111

I decided to stop watching life pass by and join in instead. This year is all about saying "yes" to life, opportunity and ideas thus this blog. Like many people, I've wanted to start a blog, and like many people I chickened out. In fact, this is my second serious attempt. Welcome aboard. I hope you enjoy taking this journey with me. Feel free to leave all sorts of comments, any time and I promise to do my best to reply. Feel free to compliment, complain, criticize, communicate...whatever floats your boat. See you soon :-)

7 responses »

  1. I was getting addicted and felt myself pulling away from the real life we all should be living. Facebook is just another movement in our culture of becoming less intimate, and less private. Get out, give it up, and live. Real friends don’t need facebook to connect, they already are!

  2. Hey partluck, I have to say that I think you’re right. I’ve been thinking about my friends list and I think 300+ is just this side of obnoxious. I ended up deleting about 40 friends, which actually felt great. Where I struggle is this: I’ve lived in 2 continents and several states, attended several schools (and I mean College/Uni not high school) which has then led to having several different groups of friends. All of this to say, I have trouble deleting a friend from a certain list because I think of them as a group. I’m basically avoiding hurt feelings.

    I value FB in my life. A great example would be today: I found out that a guy I knew and crushed on (in my youth) unexpectedly passed away. I would never have found out as fast as I did had it not been for a mutual friend on FB. However, I’m starting to relate too much via FB rather than by phone or e-mail or letters. What to do?

    I’d love to hear more about your relationship with FB, then and now. Are you totally deactivated or did you keep some friends around? How did you do it? What led you to make THE decision? Please share. I’m serious; I’m open to learning from other people’s experiences.

    Thanks for visiting. It’s great to ‘see’ you πŸ™‚

  3. Yours is not the only case I’ve read of ‘coincidences’ where Facebook restored previously disappeared stuff just as bad press looked imminent. Wasn’t Facebook one of the companies that was accused of purloining peoples’ personal address book contacts without permission? I just bookmarked you because internet censorship is a big interest of mine. As mergers keep happening fewer people wind up being our gatekeepers. Have you seen the video “Orwell Rolls In His Grave” by Robert Kane Pappas? I recommend it highly. Think about how, just like in George Orwell’s novel “1984”, the media act like the “Ministry of Truth”, the purpose of which is, in part, to disappear the truth. Freedom is Slavery, Ignorance is Strength etc.. Good luck with Facebook.

    • Funny you should mention it coz I kind of wondered about that when I was able to log on AND got an e-mail from them the very same day that I posted about it here. Anyway, I hope they’re not messing with people’s accounts coz that would be shitty.

      Thanks for bookmarking me. My viewership went up a lot so it looks like a lot of people are interested in censorship, even as it pertains to Facebook. I like your Orwell reference; sometimes I don’t follow and I can see how slowly, people like me who aren’t paying attention can become easy prey for things like Facebook changing its privacy policy without alerting people.

      I used to have this total and complete trust in its founders and their intentions but now, I’m sorry to say but I’m less rosy-eyed. That’s why I have one foot out the door and even working to cut down on my FB friends: coz I realized I was too dependent on a product whose owners could change it on a whim and I wouldn’t have a say so, and boy would that suck if I wasn’t prepared!

      Good luck with everything and thanks again.

      • Thanks so much for the compliment Marge96. Facebook shenanigans really bring out a lot of ire in people. Congrats and good luck with your blog!

      • You’re welcome! They certainly. I just got 21,700,000 search results when I Googled Facebook Sucks. I just wrote a third post on the subject myself and commented again on that Toxic Culture Facebook Sucks topic. That topic is a winner. Have a great vacation, and thanks.

Leave a Reply

