A Paradox…a most ingenious paradox…hahaha….

Standard

That’s a line from one of my favorite operettas, The Pirates of Penzance. What a great show! Anyway, I seem to have entered an interesting phase in my life: the randomness phase, complete with irony and a paradoxical existence.

I’m going to spare you all the details and save those for my shrink πŸ™‚ However, I did have a moment of realization today that even though things are not working out the way that I’d like, there’s still so much good happening – and what a pleasant surprise! The thing is, I’m quite the type-A person and I want things a certain way. To be fair to myself, I DO work my tail off so that I can have the outcome that I want. Since you don’t know me, allow me to tell you how well that plan has been working: it hasn’t. Not by a long shot, but let’s let the shrink deal with that πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

All of that being said, I am learning to remember as often as I can that just because I have a plan doesn’t mean that it is the BEST possible plan. As a Christian, I am reminded often to trust God and let me tell you; it’s no easy task. However, there is something to be said for that because according to my favorite verse (Jer. 29:11), he evidently has a plan in place for my life, and yours and everyone else’s. I hope that’s true because I’ve done all I can do.

Let me end by sharing with you something that has held me together through the toughest times: He sees what is in front of us and ahead of us. We only see what is in front of us. Obviously I hope that if you’re reading this things are going great in your life. Fantastic even! If not however, take heart and dare to allow the paradox and ironies in your life. You might find that your friends have fled when you needed them BUT then a friend you wouldn’t even think of asking for support steps up to the plate and gives you what you need, and then some! Just go with it and trust, and don’t forget to be thankful. Even if you’re not a Christian, trust in the knowledge that all will be well.

I hope to hear from you on this and if you’d like to, definitely feel free to share your thoughts or comment or whatever you’d like. God bless and hang tight!

About miamor2111

I decided to stop watching life pass by and join in instead. This year is all about saying "yes" to life, opportunity and ideas thus this blog. Like many people, I've wanted to start a blog, and like many people I chickened out. In fact, this is my second serious attempt. Welcome aboard. I hope you enjoy taking this journey with me. Feel free to leave all sorts of comments, any time and I promise to do my best to reply. Feel free to compliment, complain, criticize, communicate...whatever floats your boat. See you soon :-)

9 responses »

  1. All of life, myself included, seem like a paradox and an enigma. If only i could read the juicy stuff you save for your shrink. My shrink has my URL but prefers i tell her in person rather than read it. No freebies for me i guess. Though i rarely manage your positive outlook I certainly do appreciate it. i consider being graced with any comments you choose to make on any of my blog posts a blessing. Although i don’t assign a gender to the Higher Power i believe in and sometimes refer to Her as Goddess, i agree She moves in mysterious ways. i was raised Christian Scientist, but believe all religions should tolerate and respect each other’s views. Thank you for the positive read. If you ever feel like going on a negative rant and don’t want to do it on your own blog, please feel free to do it in a comment on mine.

    • Haha, gotta love those shrinks πŸ™‚ I try to stay positive although sometimes it’s difficult e.g the Carrie Prejean?Larry King issue or the Facebook issue. I have a close friend who is a Christian Scientist and some things I’m cool with but others? Not so much. I identify as Christian but I don’t think I fit the uber judgmental, conservative, crazy mold I seem to see almost everywhere I look. I’m really more about the relationship and less about religion. I dig some new age/buddhist stuff too, but only to the extent that it’s supported by the bible.

      I came by your blog earlier – several times. I’ll definitely come back more often. I’m not used to blogging either so I keep it simple and clean so I can follow my own blog! πŸ™‚ Definitely feel free to come back over and over and leave me as many comments as you want: I like hearing from you πŸ™‚

      • Thank you! That goes tenfold for you. Comment as much as you want on any posts on my blog. You may not be used t blogging, but when I set up mine I wasn’t used to computers. That’s why it’s so disorganized. I didn’t know a post from a category, from a page, or from a link. I put a permanent link to your site (theyesproject) over on the right side in the link category “blogroll”. They’re not alphabetical, but yours is close to the top. On the subject of religion: Even though I was raised Christian Scientist until I was 14, I don’t put myself in any one category with respect to religion. I do like the Taoist idea that every part of the whole contains all of the whole. I believe that just as we have a consciousness which is our “I am” experiencing the universe, so it is that when Christ said God is the Great I Am he was trying to convey the almost incomprehensible consciousness which manifests itself in all forms of the universe, including all spiritual and other dimensions. That it it all one concept in the mind of God that we are a part of. Putting aside the gender related pronouns, when He said God created man in his image (an Apes in His image….. did you see “Planet of the Apes?”) it meant we are part of God expressed. That is why if we seek we shall find. Have you seen the Movie Stigmata? If the God, Goddess, the Creator, the Great Spirit, the Earth Mother or whatever linguistic description you choose, which is everywhere, ceased to exist then so too would all of what we think of as reality. At least that is part of how I see it. I was taught that we are spiritual and not material. That life is in spirit and is without beginning or end. It is not inconsistent with the beliefs of first nation peoples whom some call indians. Yes, I agree that dogmatically holding ones belief to be the only way and judging other religions as bad is not the way to go. I believe Christ tried to correct some of the judgmental teachings in Leviticus. Judge not lest thee be judged also, right? In the parable about sewing seed on the ground the seed Christ was referring to was the message, not to sperm. Some beliefs I hold are more like Hindus (vegetarian) or Janes (nudity). I guess I’ll end the religious opinions now. I’m not married to them or even consistent about them. Anyway, I’m much more inclined to like the naughty stuff. This topic is not one of my usual ones. Thanks again for the compliment and comment space.

  2. Mia, you are a fine writer. I’m impressed with how you express yourself through words. I don’t say that to many people πŸ™‚

  3. Thank you for correcting and not flaming me for my error. Two very different blogs, but you were right. I like your friend Frau Jones’s blog (Beth Blogs Here). It’s good I didn’t comment referencing you on the wrong blog, because she would have had no idea who I was referring to.

Leave a Reply

