CNN Heroes Awards

Standard

I missed most of this event and now I wish I hadn’t. However, I did get to watch it long enough to be inspired.

First was the man who made it his business to provide wheelchairs to injured Iraqi children. This was just so moving; he said something to the effect of “injured children are a blessing and every child is special.”

Next came the story of the father to the forgotten: a man so selfless and generous that he had built an orphanage and taken in so many children. He was now the father of 3 biological children and 48 adopted little ones. He grows the food they eat but as if that wasn’t enough, he uses what he grows to feed countless other hungry children in the neighborhood. Even his acceptance speech oozed class, humility, gratitude, humor and wisdom. This is a man who is so generous that he told the crowd that he didn’t feel like a hero but he wanted the opportunity to introduce the real hero in his life: his wife! The camera cut to a woman with gorgeous hair. That’s all we saw since she was crying so hard. It was all very sweet. I literally exclaimed “where are these men?” He also proceeded to call his 3 biological children his other heroes and then declared his love for them in front of everyone, right before bragging on them. Let’s all collectively say it: 🙂 🙂 “Aaaawwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww” 🙂 🙂

I must admit, watching this show – at least the parts that I caught – inspired me in at least two ways:

1. It showed me what other people were doing: what was possible. what is possible

2. It showed me that I can definitely do more. It isn’t a contest and I don’t need to guilt myself into it but it’s nice to know that even in the life-seasons where I feel tired, worn and empty, I still have something to offer someone

In a time when many people seem so self-involved, selfish and sometimes just plain stupid (see White House party crashers), it’s nice to see that there are still many people doing the opposite: making decisions based on the well-being of others. I hope to add myself to this list and look forward to adding my adventures to the “Yes Trail” on this blog so please check it out from time to time.

God Bless 🙂

About miamor2111

I decided to stop watching life pass by and join in instead. This year is all about saying "yes" to life, opportunity and ideas thus this blog. Like many people, I've wanted to start a blog, and like many people I chickened out. In fact, this is my second serious attempt. Welcome aboard. I hope you enjoy taking this journey with me. Feel free to leave all sorts of comments, any time and I promise to do my best to reply. Feel free to compliment, complain, criticize, communicate...whatever floats your boat. See you soon :-)

One response »

Leave a Reply

