Deactivated Facebook! Adieu?

Standard

This is the post that never was, so hopefully the 2nd time’ll be the charm. I can hope right?

Here’s the long and the short of it: I quit Facebook last week. More specifically, I deactivated my account. I wanted to delete it but alas I just couldn’t trust myself to do it but assuming that all goes according to plan, I’ll delete it soon. Here’s a quick run-down on my reasons:

1. I hated the new Facebook. You know, the one where every single action on your part is broadcast right on your wall so that everyone, even those who really couldn’t care less, can see. I started to feel like a tagged and named animal out in the jungle where my trainers (captors?) could trace and broadcast my every move! I don’t need that kind of intrusion, which brings me to point #2

2. I felt controlled by Facebook. I could no longer decide who could see what when because Facebook had done that for me. I hated feeling like I was under the dictatorship of Facebook, where they decided for me what I could decide for myself. The added hypocrisy of the privacy section where they lead you to think that you have all this control over your page when you really don’t further moved me from frustration to serious aggravation.

3. Facebook was taking too much of my personal time and leaving me with nothing to show for it. To be fair, I was the one giving this time to Facebook; they weren’t actually taking it from me. Either way, I decided to force myself back into reality by forcing a withdrawal

4. I noticed that a family member would rather talk to her friends and post things on Facebook than talk to her family. In her defense, it’s perfectly normal for a person her age to do this. However, I noticed that I too was thinking in terms of Facebook i.e. “these are definitely going on Facebook….this would make such a cute profile pic….I’ll see you on Facebook…do you have Facebook?….Facebook Facebook Facebook, Sheesh!!! I’m a grown woman who needs to re-think how and what and when I share what I share and with who.

5. When I thought of my updates as the equivalent to going to Times Sq – NYC and announcing, nay yelling via PA system – to the world that “I ate the best mangoes today….OMG what a beautiful sunrise….I fucking hate….”.  So what? Who cares?  I honestly felt silly

Those are just 5 reasons although I’m sure I could come up with more. I’m curious to know what you think of my decision and/or the positive/negative aspects of Facebook in your life. Do tell. Until then, hugs to you 🙂

About miamor2111

I decided to stop watching life pass by and join in instead. This year is all about saying "yes" to life, opportunity and ideas thus this blog. Like many people, I've wanted to start a blog, and like many people I chickened out. In fact, this is my second serious attempt. Welcome aboard. I hope you enjoy taking this journey with me. Feel free to leave all sorts of comments, any time and I promise to do my best to reply. Feel free to compliment, complain, criticize, communicate...whatever floats your boat. See you soon :-)

6 responses »

  1. Wow, Mia. That’s really making a statement. When my account got disabled with no warning I was pretty upset. I’d made friends there. When I think back to the conversations via Facebook with my friends, I have to admit that a large proportion of them were not of great significance. I did enjoy trying to help Mister “Sissy Panty Buns” in his quest to get world famous by re-posting the photos of him showing his ladies panties. Those were the photos the “Facebook Team” apparently didn’t like, rudely and suddenly disabling my account. I got so mad at them I started my blog, “Facebook Sucks”.
    I understand it’s gotten a lot worse at Facebook. There’s been a lot in the news about them claiming the rights to user’s content and using it for their own commercial purposes if they want forever even if you delete your account. I was thinking of writing another post about it because there’s so much unfolding there. There have been reports that they want to start charging users and make the operation more commercial, but I wanted to research it further.
    Some of the reasons you deactivated your own account sound like they are shared by a lot of people who have commented over at the Toxic Culture post “Facebook Sucks”, including that post’s author.
    It can be addicting to spend a lot of time there, and it seemed easy to share things, as long as it was within Facebook itself. Unfortunately the censorship there was completely arbitrary, and it sounds like the Facebook Team are getting to be real control freaks. I’m not sure it’s limited just to Facebook either, but I think at least Google has been standing up to some of the censorship pressure from China. What you wrote about in this post does sound scary. If you want relative privacy and are feeling like a tagged (and tracked) animal, that’s not good. I wonder If Facebook will ever change their mind and make some kind of commercial use out of those photos of Panty Buns “modeling” his ladies panties or use my old account to lure in new victims? I wonder if they’d ever let Panty Buns open an account there. He doesn’t seem to mind getting watched.
    Good luck with your new Facebook-free time.

    • Hey Marge, I was just over to your blog facebook-sucks.blogspot.com and tried to leave a comment but not sure it took. I hope it did. I loved the 30 reasons why Facebook sucks.

      In a nutshell I would say that the old adage is true: if it sounds too good to be true, it is. It just took us longer to see FB dark, controlling side. I’ve learned a lesson in all this: my friends and I should keep in touch via more private spaces (like e-mail, phones etc) but not on so-called social networking sites. I think of all the info that I put online via FB and the fact that it’s never really gone and it’s makes me wanna barf just a little. I may still use these so-called social networking sites but only for business-like ventures e.g. promoting my blogs. I will not use my real name(s) and will not have friends sharing personal info there.

      I’m suffering some FB withdrawal but I’m not worried. The addiction will be over soon, I hope 🙂 Come back often and say hi.

      • Thanks Mia! Facebook or any social networking site can be addictive if you really get into sharing something right up until your stuff disappears because either there’s a glitch, or you get snagged by a spam filter, or you say something too unpopular, or post something Facebook doesn’t want published, or advertise one of their competitors, or say or post something the Facebook Team doesn’t like. A lot of people seem to use those sites for self-promotion, but your content should still be owned by you. It seems awfully greedy for the social networking sites to try to claim everyone’s content, want to charge for the account, and start loading it up with their own advertising at the same time. That stuff didn’t seem as bad before my own account was disabled. I hope you build a good network of followers on your own. What are your other blogs? Thanks for your comment on mine.

      • Thanks for the best wishes.

        I’m so excited by a new writing opportunity that just came up and I’m glad you asked since it gives me the perfect excuse to talk about it 🙂 I am a contributor to a blog called The Lily Review. My column is titled “Mia’s Diary” and can be found at http://www.lily.co.ke. For whatever reason, my column isn’t yet featured on the main page but my first article can be found at the top of the page or the right hand side under recent articles. It’s titled “Rant & Rave with Mia.” Check me out and definitely feel free to leave a comment.

        It’s so great to see you here at theyesproject Marge. See you around often 🙂

  2. nice! enjoy your FB free world, so glad you still have the blog though. i left FB for a couple of month and it felt great, i came back on my own terms…

    • Heeey Assi, so great to ‘see’ you 🙂

      I remember your “couple of months” off FB and I missed you terribly 😦 I’m glad you’re back although now I’m gone. I’d love to hear how this experience is different from the previous one. First, out of curiosity and second, because I’d like to use FB as a way to promote my blog and column and other writing opportunities that may come up but I’m not quite ready I don’t think. Any advice you can give will be greatly appreciated.

      Hey, I still have a card from that beautiful French restaurant we went to and now when I smell the rain BEFORE it rains (and during, of course), I think of you! How are you? I miss you so much!

Leave a Reply

