Self-Indulgence? Check!

Standard

I know it’s been a while since my last post but don’t be mad. Once you find out what I’ve been up to you’ll wish you were there with me. Before I get to the business of making you green with envy, let me start by asking how have you been? I like hearing from you so definitely let a sista know what’s good with you. Ready to go green?

Ok, I did something I never thought I’d do. Actually, that’s not entirely true; I’ve always wanted to do it but conditions just never seemed right. I’ve traveled and lived alone but never done this. I took my first solo vacation ever and it was a blast! Yay!!!!!

Picture it: South Coast Mombasa, gorgeous beaches, lovely views, great food and lots of it, freedom to do what I wanted when I wanted, approved laziness, 4am movie nights with coconut for snacks, eating alone, skimpy little outfits, the ocean for a lullaby, reading trashy magazines by the beach wearing BIG vacation sunglasses, drinking the milk of fresh young coconut with flowers in it, spoiled rotten, head-to-toe spa treatment (by a guy 😉 ), interesting people and peace of mind that was out of this world and that’s not even all of it. Leopard Beach Resort & Spa has perfected the art of hospitality (and I swear they’re not even paying me to say that).

If you’ve never taken a solo vacation, please do. This was honestly one of the best things I’ve ever done for myself. Ever! The memory of it is enough to bring a smile to my face.

I’m looking to travel again so most definitely gimme your suggestions. Now you know what I’ve been up to. What have you been up to? Lemme know. Smooches!

About miamor2111

I decided to stop watching life pass by and join in instead. This year is all about saying "yes" to life, opportunity and ideas thus this blog. Like many people, I've wanted to start a blog, and like many people I chickened out. In fact, this is my second serious attempt. Welcome aboard. I hope you enjoy taking this journey with me. Feel free to leave all sorts of comments, any time and I promise to do my best to reply. Feel free to compliment, complain, criticize, communicate...whatever floats your boat. See you soon :-)

4 responses »

    • Thanks J. You’re right; so right in fact that I’m already planning my next vacation 🙂 I’ve missed you and was just thinking of you today. Where are you? Have you been renewing your energies and re-inventing yourself too ama?

  1. thats so totally awesome…that is one of those things i plan to do for myself…and maybe now i will, because you have shown me that its possible for a woman to just go vacationing alone, sometimes its good to indulge.

  2. Jayde, thanks so much for coming over to visit (and so so sorry for taking so long to reply). Shame on me. Really!

    Now, about that vacation, definitely get to it. I suggest you write down places you wanna visit (countries, regions, places you’ve heard about or are curious about etc) then go to tripadvisor and see what people have to say about different hotels. Make sure to read reviews by solo travellers because these will be particularly useful. Don’t feel like you have to go alone if you’re not ready and definitely no pressure to spend 1 week or month if you don’t want to. This is about you so also write down what you hope to get from the experience and/or what (or who?) you’re trying to get away from. You can go ahead and have friend(s) meet you half way through or vice versa. Whatever floats your boat. Remember, it’s your party and you can do whatever you wanna do! Good luck and please please share with me how it goes. I’m looking forward to it and cheering you on 🙂

Leave a Reply

