Letter to Luis Moreno Ocampo

Standard

Dear Mr. Ocampo, I hope this finds you well.

I am writing this letter regarding the matter of Kenya’s 6 most wanted criminals by the ICC. I would love to say that I’m writing on behalf of all Kenyans but alas, I wouldn’t want to presume. I feel that a letter is necessary because things seem to be getting worse and not better. I was concerned when I saw the 6 alleged murderers and rapists working very hard to avoid prosecution. I was concerned, but not enough to write to you. However, many weeks after your announcement, I am positively worried and losing sleep about it. I am worried sick that your once strong resolve to prosecute these alleged criminals to the fullest extent of international law – in accordance with the treaty that Kenya willingly signed – is weakening.

Sir, Kenyans have endured decades of impunity. Did you know, for example, that the last president was in power for over to two decades? There are those that call him a dictator while others loved him. What cannot be denied is that he put the country through what is colloquially termed as “hell”. All of this to say, Kenyans have unfortunately grown accustomed to impunity and a part and parcel of life.

That being said, this has simply gone too far! The Kenyan government has spent – and is planning to spend – obscene amounts of money to push their agenda against the ICC and in the defense of some of the accused. This, despite the fact that the ICC offers legal counsel to the accused at no cost to them. The government is using the country’s coffers to defend people who are accused of some of the worst crimes against humanity while their victims languish endlessly in IDP camps. In essence, the Kenyan government is using tax payer funds to pay for the defense of people accused of crimes against those very tax payers! It’s immoral, unfair, insulting, unjust and unethical, but they don’t care.

Dear Mr. Ocampo, please don’t abandon Kenya. If you hear nothing else I just said, hear this: Kenya NEEDS you. Kenyans need someone to stand up for them; someone who cannot be victimized by the local police or anyone else in the country for that matter; someone who cannot be bought. They need someone who isn’t easily swayed by politics. They need someone to remind their “leaders” and citizens that integrity matters. Sir, please push through with the process; do not be swayed by pressure from this or any other government. Do not let their whining get to you, do not let their cries of unfairness sway you to their side. Do not allow them to use you to get away with these crimes, if found guilty.

However, if you do feel yourself swayed by their arguments – because you are human after all – take a good long look at the victims of these crimes. Let their horror stories of rape, hunger, tears, insecurity, death, abandonment and fear move you to standing your ground. Let the Kenyan governments own decision to have the ICC pursue these cases remind you that you are within your mandate. Let the everyday, hard working Kenyan inspire you forward, for hard work and innovation will mean nothing should the country fall back into chaos. Keep in mind that Kenya is facing another presidential election next year. If they get away with this now, Kenya will never know peace because it will be clear that there will be no consequences for such brutal acts. Finally, remember too that should you allow them to wiggle their way out of this situation, they will be taking your credibility down with them. They will, in essence, be announcing that you too are for sale. That cannot be!

The accused are simply that: accused. Whether or not they’re guilty is for the ICC to decide; do your due diligence and let their attorneys do theirs and then may the chips fall where they may.

Dear Mr. Ocampo, Kenyans need to be reassured that the ICC can and does stand for justice for all; Kenyans need to see a justice system that actually works. I realize that I had not intended to speak on behalf of Kenyans, but it turns out that I did, for better or worse.

Sir, please do not abandon Kenya.

Sincerely,

Mia

About miamor2111

I decided to stop watching life pass by and join in instead. This year is all about saying "yes" to life, opportunity and ideas thus this blog. Like many people, I've wanted to start a blog, and like many people I chickened out. In fact, this is my second serious attempt. Welcome aboard. I hope you enjoy taking this journey with me. Feel free to leave all sorts of comments, any time and I promise to do my best to reply. Feel free to compliment, complain, criticize, communicate...whatever floats your boat. See you soon :-)

10 responses »

  1. I am enjoining myself in this petition, and i pray that you will act, all the next time you step into kenya, a cold matchete will be your guide…for mungiki will be the new national militia

    • Thanks Pitzevans and what a scary concept re: new national militia! I hope Ocampo acts and acts fast and I’m thankful that the US and UK have said that they will not support Kenya’s petition. At this point, I think they are Kenya’s only hope of sending the 6 to the ICC. Let them face trial; even if they’re acquitted it’ll serve as a deterent to the rest, I think/hope.

  2. I agree with you, let them face justice and be acquitted if innocent, or what is to stop them from repeating the same next time. impunity must end one way or the other, lets hope it will be through diplomacy and not the sword.

    • My point exactly. I’m not even saying they’re guilty (because I’m keeping that opinion to myself) I’m just saying let the process go through and let them be accorded fairness in the proceedings and then may justice prevail. 2012 needs to be different!

  3. I partly agree however Ocampo is just another tool for settling scores,I still maintain that Ocampo is not good for our our young democracy,the united states is not part of the ICC which they very well know is not for their interests.Kindly Ocampo Leave us alone!you are not Good for us!

    • I disagree Jonathan. Ocampo could not care less about settling scores. He didn’t invite himself over; the Kenyan govt failed to set up local structures in pursuit of justice and they opted for the ICC several times. They probably didn’t think ICC/Ocampo would take up the cases so seriously and now that he has, it has become a matter of settling scores? I don’t think so. It’s disgusting that they’re quick to run around looking for support while IDP languish in camps years later. Luis Moreno Ocampo is seeking justice, regardless of who may be trampled upon. Please note that he didn’t touch the principals because he didn’t want to upset an already shaky govt but the rest must face the law. 2012 is just around the corner and a few selfish individuals should not hold an entire nation back and at ransom.

  4. This is a good post but I fear we may all be looking to the wrong place for justice. I highly doubt that the ICC will gather enough evidence to convict all 6. There may be some scapegoat, eg Sang (since transcripts of his alleged hate-speech can be made available, one supposes) but even if ICC convicted all 6 how does it help the victims’relatives or IDPs. Only Kenyan’s in Kenya can address the questions of Ethnicity, Land and the criminal militias. These issues have featured in all elections since the advent of multi-pary politricks.

    • Woolie I see your point but to me, you’re comparing apples to oranges. First of all, the ICC’s job isn’t to find solutions for internal problems. It’s job (in this case) is to prosecute for international crimes. Let’s also remember that Kenya ASKED for this directly 3 times. I doubt the leadership thought it would happen. Now that it has, they’re running helter skelter. Their conviction won’t help THESE IDP’s but it’ll help in preventing you from becoming an IDP next year, 6 years from now and on and on. PS: ICC is not a Kenyan court and they are held to the highest standards so if any of them is convicted, it will be after Moreno Ocampo has met his burden of proof. I say this because you mentioned Sang being scapegoated. No such thing; IF evidence exists, THEN it exists. No scapegoating there. Evidence or no evidence.

  5. Hi Miamor – thanks for the reply. I hope I did not come across as being against sending PEV suspects off to the Hague. Ofcourse this court is trying for crimes against humanity not the underlying political causes.

    Here is my fear: The six will not be convicted. They agreed to be named so as to cover for the REAL culprits. We will be taken through hoops and other legal roundabouts for several years before they are finally acquitted. The whole thing will then be forgotten. If that not be so how is it that the President of Kenya is seen out in public rallies and gatherings with these same ICC suspects? How is it that some still hold office? Ocampo and the rest of us seeking justice must think again.

    Thanks

Leave a Reply

